Smoky Mountain Counseling Association (SMCA)

Smoky Mountain Counseling Association serves the following counties: 

Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, Monroe, Morgan, Roane, Scott, Sevier, Union


Nominations for President-Elect here

Please nominate yourself or someone you believe would like to serve as our SMCA president-elect

Nominations for Awards here

Please nominate the person you would like to vote for in each of the following categories. Remember to add a brief paragraph about why that person(s) is deserving of the award. Don't be shy!  If you don't have a person to nominate for a certain category, simply leave it blank.
Thanks for taking the time to shine a spotlight on some of your peers! - SMCA Officers





13th Annual SMCA One-Day Conference: February 16, 2019, at Carson-Newman University

Click Here for SMCA One-Day Conference  Page




Welcome to the Smoky Mountain Counseling Association website!

Smoky Mountain Counseling Association is a regional chapter of the state organizations, Tennessee Counseling Association. As a chapter of TCA, SMCA works to support both the mission and purpose of TCA by meeting throughout the year to provide professional development opportunities for School Counselors, Mental Health Counselors, Rehabilitation Counselors, Social Workers, Counselor Supervisors, graduate students and anyone interested in counseling and the profession as a whole.

Our meetings include a time to network, meet other counselors from the area, have dinner, and a one-hour professional development opportunity. The professional development part of our meeting will always have a guest speaker who will speak on a relevant topic and its relation to counseling.

Our goals for this year are:

  • Be intentional about increasing membership
  • Establish new ways to address the need of our current mental health members
  • Determine new ways to invest and reach out to members of our community
  • Identify ways to use technology and social media to broaden our scope of reach and influence

Check us out on FacebookTwitter, and LinkedIn



Our Mission:

The mission of the Smoky Mountain Counseling Association is to enhance the quality of life in Tennessee and society by promoting the development of professional counselors, advancing the counseling profession, and using the profession and practice of counseling to promote respect for human dignity and diversity.

Our Purpose

The purposes of SMCA:

a) To unite in one organization all persons engaged or interested in any phase of counseling and developmental work in East Tennessee, including the counties of Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, Monroe, Morgan, Roane, Scott, Sevier, and Union.

b) To maintain and improve professional standards in fields of counseling and development.

c) To encourage the development of counseling and development activities in the East Tennessee area.

d) To serve as an agency for information about counseling and development programs in the East Tennessee area and in the State of Tennessee.

e) To disseminate information and focus public attention on legislation affecting the counseling and development profession in the East Tennessee area and the State of Tennessee.

g) To publish a newsletter to inform the membership, to foster cohesiveness, and to further the goals and objectives of the organization.


smca team-02

Terry Sharp

School Counselor, Knox County Schools

Rena Arwood

Rena Arwood



Carson Newman
Graduate Student

Candy Pelham

Candy Pelham

Carson Newman University Graduate Student


Mariah Woolridge

Social Media Chair


smca team-01

Nacole Gwathney M.S., PSC

Past President

School Counselor, Knox County Schools


Circle Photos for Team page-10

Tracy Cagle
Legislative Liaison Chair



If you want to RSVP to a meeting or join our email list, please email [email protected]

Also, to Knox County employees, our meetings are on ERO and you will need to register if you would like in-service credit. Please note that it is only for the speaker portion of the meeting. If you need a CEU, there will be a place for you to indicate that upon signing in for the meeting and you will be sent a certificate via email.