Greetings from the Tennessee Counseling Association!

I look forward to seeing you all at our upcoming conference in November, Building Bridges", the 62nd Annual Conference of the Tennessee Counseling Association!  Our TCA Conference is the only conference specifically developed by counselors for all counselors in the state of Tennessee.  We have listened to your feedback in order to improve your conference experience.  This year's conference planning has emphasized increasing your opportunities for networking while maintaining our commitment to continuing education and professional development.  Doctors Samuel Gladding, Brande Flamez, and Gerald Pennie have been selected to address our profession's need for advocacy, collaboration, leadership, and social justice.  As counselors, we work in a variety of settings, with clients throughout their lifespan in the three grand cultural and geographic divisions of the state of Tennessee.  Despite these differences, we are one profession working to serve universal client needs.  Emphasizing our similarities as counselors, we have a duty to advocate for both the profession and our clients.  This advocacy requires collaboration among our specialties, with our clients, leadership in our communities, and at times legislative action.  In an effort to improve and enhance the lives of our clients, counselors need to bridge the gaps in the understanding of what counseling is, what counselors do, the needs of our clients, and how counselors can benefit our communities.  Help us build this bridge as we collectively take the time to connect, have fun, renew and restore our commitment to our profession while we acquire the knowledge and skills to improve our practice, profession, and the lives of our clients.  We look forward to seeing you at this year's conference!

Dr. Steve Zanskas

TCA President




Executive Officers

President: Dr. Steve Zanskas
President-elect: Dr. Janet Hicks
Past President: Dr. Eva Gibson
Secretary: Terry Sharp
Treasurer:  Anna Millard
Graduate Student Representative: Erin Bennett


Contract Employees

Executive Director: Kat Coy
Membership Secretary: Cherrie Holden

Committee Chairs

Awards: Chris Todd
Bylaws, 2019-21: Nichole Cobb
Ethics, 2019-20: Thurman Webb
Human Rights: Derrick Shepard 
Membership Chair: Constance Certion
NBCC Liaison:  Chris LaFever
Public Policy and Legislation: Lisa Henderson/Dr. Audrey Elion
Publications: Erin MacInerney
Strategic Planning: 
TCA Foundation: Lisa Henderson
Archives: Claire Dempsey
Parliamentarian: Tracy Cagle
Research: Patrick Murphy
Strategic Partnerships: 




President: Dr. Jay Tift


President: Julia Cole


President: Kevin Doyle 


President: Laura Filtness





President: Mark Loftis


President: Madge Gregory

Martha Polk

President: vacant

Middle Tennessee

President: Maria Jones

South Tennessee

President: Jordan Tatom

South Central

President: Mary Jane Nave

Smoky Mountain

President: Terry Sharp


President: vacant

West Tennessee

President: Carnell Mitchell




President: DeEdra Johnson


President: vacant



President: vacant


President: Rebekah Lemons