TAMCD History

Our History

AMCD, formerly known as the Association for Non-White Concerns (ANWC) in Personnel and Guidance, was founded at the national level in 1972 as a division of APGA). TANWC was founded around 1973 as a division of TPGA. In 1991, the name was changed from Association for Non-White Concerns to Association for Multicultural Counseling and Development, AMCD, with the state division as TAMCD.

A Decade of Reflections reveal the following TAMCD Events: 

  • For several years, TAMCD hosted a reception at TCA’s Annual Conference which included an update on business matters. Some years, TAMCD held division meetings or business luncheons.
  • Members of TAMCD have presented at the local (WTCA Summer Conference) and state (TCA Annual Conference) levels, with the goal of promoting cross-cultural understandings and building respect and appreciation for our diverse community.
  • Dr. Hattie Isen received the Samuel H. Johnson Distinguished Service Award at ACA’s Annual Convention in Hawaii in 2008.
  • Multicultural Pre-Con at TCA’s 54th Annual Conference Memphis Hilton, Memphis, TN:  Speaker: Mr. Richard A. Lou, Professor and Chair Art Department, University of Memphis
  • Facilitated Multicultural Entertainment for opening session at TCA’s 55th Annual Conference, Memphis Hilton, Memphis, TN
  • Multicultural & Diversity Pre-Con at TCA’s 57th Annual Conference Embassy Suites, Murfreesboro, TN: Speaker: Dr. Jewell Winn, Executive Director
  • International Programs and Chief Diversity Officer, Tennessee State University, Nashville, TN
  • Multicultural Social Justice Counseling Competencies: Future Directions in Counseling Practice and Research Pre-Con at TCA’s 58th Annual Conference Embassy Suites, Murfreesboro, TN: Speaker: Dr. S. Kent Butler, Associate Professor, AMCD Past President, University of Central Florida, Orlando, FL


Past TAMCD Presidents to President-Elect-Elect

Mary Brignole University of Memphis 2009-2010

Marylyn Washington Shelby County Schools 2010-2011

Dr. Hattie Isen Freed-Hardeman University 2011-2012

Peggy Misenhelter Shelby County Schools 2012-2013

Dr. Jeffrey Taylor Shelby County Schools 2013-2014

LaSheryl Askew Operation HOPE 2014-2015

Bridgitt Atkins Shelby County Schools 2015-2016

Okessa Edwards DuBois Prep Academy 2016-2017

Dr. Hattie Isen Freed-Hardeman University 2017-2018

Tiffany Hilson Shelby County Government 2018-2019